Press Releases

Morris Journalism Excellence Awards 2012

Congratulations to all the recipients of the seventh annual Morris Journalism Excellence Awards, a celebration of enduring stars across the company. This year, four distinguished outside judges selected winners in 13 categories, with two print circulation groupings; 40,000 and above, including Morris News Service, and under 40,000, including weeklies. They also named honorable mentions in a number of categories.

Jacksonville won six awards. Brainerd, Amarillo and St. Augustine won three each. And Athens, Augusta, and Savannah won two each. Augusta showed that it continues to be a “hotbed of innovation”, as The Chronicle received its fifth William S. Morris IV Innovation Award.

Each award winner will receive $500 and a glass trophy, to be presented in local ceremonies in July.


COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT – Circulation 40,000 and above
    The Florida Times-Union, staff
    Savannah (Ga.) Morning News, staff

Honorable Mention
    The Augusta (Ga.) Chronicle, staff

COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Brian S. Peterson and Denton Newman, Brainerd (Min.) Dispatch

DEADLINE REPORTING – Circulation 40,000 and above
    Kevin Welch, Amarillo (Texas) Globe-News

Honorable Mention
    Aziza Musa, Amarillo (Texas) Globe-News

DEADLINE REPORTING – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Staff, St. Augustine (Fla.) Record

WRITING – Circulation 40,000 and above
   Mark Woods, The Florida Times-Union

WRITING – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Joe Johnson,  Athens (Ga.) Banner-Herald

Honorable Mention
    Brian Smith, Kenai (Ak.) Peninsula Clarion

COMMUNITY SERVICE – Circulation 40,000 and above
    Tracey McManus and Susan McCord, The Augusta (Ga.) Chronicle

Honorable Mention
    Sandy Hodson, The Augusta (Ga.) Chronicle

COMMUNITY SERVICE – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Mike O’Rourke, Jennifer Stockinger, Matt Erickson and Renee Richardson, Brainerd (Min.) Dispatch

Honorable Mention
    Logan Tuttle, Kenai (Ak.) Peninsula Clarion

COMMENTARY – Circulation 40,000 and above
    Lee Wolverton, Amarillo (Texas) Globe-News

COMMENTARY – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Barry L. Paschal, The Columbia County (Ga.) News Times

Honorable Mention
    Mike O’Rourke, Brainerd (Min.) Dispatch

HEADLINE WRITING – Circulation 40,000 and above
    Glenys Young, Lubbock (Texas) Avalanche-Journal

HEADLINE WRITING – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Brian S. Peterson, Brainerd (Min.) Dispatch

Honorable Mention
    Enoch Autry, Sylvania (Ga.) Telephone

GRAPHICS – Circulation 40,000 and above
    Steve Nelson, The Florida Times-Union

PHOTOGRAPHY – Circulation 40,000 and above
    Roberto Rodriguez, Amarillo (Texas) Globe-News

Honorable Mentions
    Steve Bisson, Savannah (Ga.) Morning News
    Bob Self, The Florida Times-Union

PHOTOGRAPHY – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Daron Dean, St. Augustine (Fla.) Record

Honorable Mentions
    Jim Blaylock, The Columbia County (Ga.) News Times
    Michael Armstrong, Homer (Ak.) News

PAGE DESIGN – Circulation 40,000 and above
    Jennifer Bradford, The Florida Times-Union
    Staff, Savannah (Ga.) Morning News

Honorable Mention
    Mic Hernandez, The Augusta (Ga.) Chronicle

PAGE DESIGN – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Chad Clark, Athens (Ga.) Banner-Herald

VIDEOGRAPHY – Circulation 40,000 and above
    Bob Self, The Florida Times-Union

Honorable Mentions
    Zach Boyden-Holmes, The Augusta (Ga.) Chronicle
    Richard Burkhart, Savannah (Ga.) Morning News

VIDEOGRAPHY – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Jonathan Grass, Juneau (Ak.) Empire

Honorable Mention
    Kelly Humphrey and Denton Newman, Brainerd (Min.) Dispatch

SPORTS – Circulation 40,000 and above
    Kevin Haskin, Topeka (Kas.) Capital-Journal

SPORTS – Circulation 40,000 and below
    Danny Klein, St. Augustine (Fla.) Record

WILLIAM S. MORRIS IV INNOVATION AWARD – Circulation 40,000 and above
    The Augusta (Ga.) Chronicle

    Mike Clark, The Florida Times-Union

Honorable Mention
    Darci Heiskell, Amarillo (Texas) Globe-News

About Morris Communications

Morris Communications Company, LLC is part of a privately held media company with diversified holdings that include newspaper, magazine, and cable television. Morris’ holdings include 11 daily newspapers, numerous nondaily and free community papers, magazines and specialized publications, visitor (travel and tourism) publications, including Where® Magazine,, and Where® Guestbooks and provides cable television, internet, broadband, and telephone services.

For more information, please visit

Follow us at:

For Inquiries to Morris Communications Company, LLC:

Heather Nagel-Doughtie
Chief Marketing Officer
[email protected]


725 Broad Street Augusta, GA 30901    |    T    800.622.6358    |    Privacy Policy   |    Cookie Policy    |    Terms of Service


© 2023 Morris Communications Company, LLC.