Press Releases

Morris Journalism Excellence Awards 2014

Congratulations to all the recipients of the tenth annual Morris Journalism Excellence Awards, a celebration of enduring stars across the company.

Each award winner will receive $500 and a glass trophy, to be presented in local ceremonies


COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT – Circulation 40,000 and above
Chanel Martin, Tom Szaroleta, Steve Nelson, Bob Self and Kenneth Amos, The Florida Times-Union

Honorable Mention
Darci Heiskell, Bethany Beck, Stephanie Williams, Matthew Hutchison, Jim McBride, Jon Mark Beileu, Kevin Welch, Karen Welch, Les Simpson and Brandon Hughes, Amarillo Globe-News

COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT – Circulation 40,000 and below
Molly Dischner, Rashah McChesney, Abby Lowell, Andrew Jensen, Michael Penn and Derek Schoenfeldt, Alaska Journal of Commerce, Kenai Peninsula Clarion and Juneau Empire

DEADLINE REPORTING – Circulation 40,000 and above
Staff, Florida Times-Union

Honorable Mentions
Staff, Amarillo (Texas) Globe-News
Adam D. Young, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal

DEADLINE REPORTING – Circulation 40,000 and below
Rashah McChesney, Kenai Peninsula Clarion

Honorable Mention
Laura McKenzie, Barnwell Newspaper Group

WATCHDOG REPORTING – Circulation 40,000 and above
Aly Van Dyke, Topeka Capital-Journal

Honorable Mention
Topher Sanders, Florida Times-Union

WATCHDOG REPORTING – Circulation 40,000 and below
Matt Woolbright, Juneau Empire

Honorable Mention
Jonathan Vickery, Barnwell Newspaper Group

WRITING – Circulation 40,000 and above
Matt Soergel, The Florida Times-Union

Honorable Mention
Mark Woods, The Florida Times-Union

WRITING – Circulation 40,000 and below
Andre Gallant,  Athens (Ga.) Banner-Herald

Honorable Mention
McKibben Jackinsky, Homer News

COMMUNITY SERVICE – Circulation 40,000 and above
Staff, The Florida Times-Union

COMMUNITY SERVICE – Circulation 40,000 and below
Staff, Log Cabin Democrat

Honorable Mention
Logan Tuttle, Kenai (Ak.) Peninsula Clarion

COMMENTARY – Circulation 40,000 and above
Mike Ryan, The Augusta Chronicle

Honorable Mention
Mark Woods, The Florida Times-Union

COMMENTARY – Circulation 40,000 and below
Ricky Duke, Log Cabin Democrat

Honorable Mention
Parish Howard and Carol McLeod, News and Farmer

DIGITAL JOURNALISM – Circulation 40,000 and above
Scott Michaux, Kim Luciani, Michael Holahan and Steve Schretzmann, The Augusta Chronicle

Honorable Mention
Derek Hembd, Clifford Davis and Steve Nelson, The Florida Times-Union

DIGITAL JOURNALISM – Circulation 40,000 and below
Richard Hamm, Lee Shearer, Marc Weiszer, Rachel Bowers, Donnie Fetter and Chris White, Athens Banner-Herald

SOCIAL MEDIA – Circulation 40,000 and above
Staff, The Augusta Chronicle

GRAPHICS – Circulation 40,000 and above
Steve Nelson, The Florida Times-Union

GRAPHICS – Circulation 40,000 and below
Randi Spray and Melissa Griffiths, Juneau Empire

PHOTOGRAPHY – Circulation 40,000 and above
Bob Self, The Florida Times-Union

PHOTOGRAPHY – Circulation 40,000 and below
Daron Dean, St. Augustine (Fla.) Record

Honorable Mentions
Jim Blaylock, The Columbia County (Ga.) News Times
Michael Armstrong, Homer (Ak.) News

VIDEOGRAPHY – Circulation 40,000 and above
Bill Kirby, Mark Albertin and Philip Stanley, The Augusta Chronicle

Honorable Mentions
Matt Pittman, The Florida Times-Union
Lisa Kaylor and Sara Caldwell, The Augusta Chronicle

VIDEOGRAPHY – Circulation 40,000 and below
Eric White, Log Cabin Democrat

Honorable Mentions
Daron Dean, St. Augustine Record
Taylor Hanks, North Augusta Today

PAGE DESIGN – Circulation 40,000 and above
Phil Diokno, The Florida Times-Union

PAGE DESIGN – Circulation 40,000 and below
Rachel Bowers, Athens Banner-Herald

SPORTS – Circulation 40,000 and above
Scott Michaux, The Augusta Chronicle

SPORTS – Circulation 40,000 and below
Marc Weiszer, Athens Banner-Herald

WILLIAM S. MORRIS IV INNOVATION AWARD – Circulation 40,000 and above
Staff, Amarillo Globe-News

Honorable Mention
Staff, The Florida Times-Union

Jan Skutch, Savannah Morning News

About Morris Communications

Morris Communications Company, LLC is part of a privately held media company with diversified holdings that include newspaper, magazine, and cable television. Morris’ holdings include 11 daily newspapers, numerous nondaily and free community papers, magazines and specialized publications, visitor (travel and tourism) publications, including Where® Magazine,, and Where® Guestbooks and provides cable television, internet, broadband, and telephone services.

For more information, please visit

Follow us at:

For Inquiries to Morris Communications Company, LLC:

Heather Nagel-Doughtie
Chief Marketing Officer
[email protected]


725 Broad Street Augusta, GA 30901    |    T    800.622.6358    |    Privacy Policy   |    Cookie Policy    |    Terms of Service


© 2024 Morris Communications Company, LLC.